Wednesday, 20 January 2021

UN in your language

Five Women in Science Laureates revealed for 2015 awards

Thaisa Bergmann

5 March 2015 - On 18 March, the L’Oréal and UNESCO will present The Women in Science Awards, acknowledging five outstanding women scientists and giving 15 grants to promising young researchers. These are women have greatly contributed to scientific progress in a field still largely dominated by men where much progress remains to be made to reach gender balance.

In this years statement for International Women's Day Ban Ki-moon states that "To be truly transformative, the post-2015 development agenda must prioritize gender equality and women’s empowerment. The world will never realize 100 per cent of its goals if 50 per cent of its people cannot realize their full potential."

Only 30% of the world researchers are women and many barriers and obstacles discourage women from entering or pursuing a career in science. Dedicated to both honouring distinguished women scientists and supporting promising young researchers, the L’Oréal-UNESCO program accelerates the careers of 15 exceptional young women chosen among over 230 Fellowships awarded every year all over the world.

The independent jury consists of 12 prominent international scientists who were personally chosen by the President of the Jury and 1999 Nobel Prize winner, Prof. Ahmed Zewail. Since 1998, the For Women in Science program has honored 2,250 greatly talented women in over 110 countries.

This year's L’Oréal-UNESCO For women in Science Awards Ceremony will be held on the evening of March 18th at the Sorbonne in Paris.

As of March 3rd, the identities of the scientists were revealled to millions of passengers going through the terminals of the Charles de Gaulle and Orly airports through a series of photographs of the scientists created by world-renowned photographer Brigitte Lacombe.

Prof. Rajaâ Cherkaoui El Moursli is being honored for her key contribution to one of the greatest discoveries in physics: proof of the existence of the Higgs Boson, the particle responsible for the creation of mass in the universe.


Prof. Yi Xie is being honored for her significant contributions to creating new nanomaterials with promising applications in the conversion of heat or sunlight into electricity.

Yi Xie

Prof. Dame Carole Robinson is being honored for creating a revolutionary method for studying how proteins function, particularly membrane proteins, and establishing a whole new scientific field: gas phase structural biology.

carol robinson

Prof. Thaisa Storchi Bergmann is being honored for her work leading to the understanding of massive black holes, one of the most enigmatic and complex phenomena of the universe: she was the first researcher to discover that matter could escape from black holes.

Thaisa Storchi Bergmann

Prof. Molly S. Shoichet is being honored for the development of new materials to regenerate damaged nerve tissue and for a new method that can deliver drugs directly to the spinal cord and brain.

Molly Shoichet


Social Media

Facebook R dark blue 150px  TwitterBird R dark blue 150px  Vimeo R dark blue 150px  Youtube R dark blue 150px  Instagram R dark blue 150px
>> All our channels

externallinks-icon120x120External link:


infoPoint32x32 Dblue Latest Products:

New Backgrounders:
          Refugees and Migrants
          Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs)

Library Newsletter - October 2019
(new websites, information material & publications)

UN Press & Media Contacts

externallinks-icon120x120External link (non-UN):


When the Security Council approaches the final stage of negotiation of a draft resolution the text is printed in blue... What's in Blue helps interested UN readers keep up with what might soon be "in blue".