Wednesday, 20 January 2021

UN in your language

14 elected to UN Human Rights Council


The General Assembly has elected 14 countries to the Human Rights Council.  The newly elected countries will serve on the United Nations Human Rights Council (HRC) for a period of three years beginning on 1 January 2014.

Algeria, China, Cuba, France Maldives, Mexico, Morocco, Namibia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Viet Nam, Russia, and United Kingdom, were elected by secret ballot today at UN Headquarters in New York.

Members of the Council serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms.

The Council, composed of 47 members, is an inter-governmental body within the UN system responsible for strengthening the promotion and protection of human rights around the globe and for addressing situations of human rights violations and make recommendations on them.

All of its members are elected by the world body's General Assembly, and it has the ability to discuss all thematic human rights issues and situations that require its attention throughout the year. It meets at the UN Office at Geneva.

The Council's membership is based on equitable geographical distribution and seats are distributed as follows:

• 13 seats for African States,
• 13 seats for Asian States,
• 8 seats for Latin American and Caribbean States,
• 7 seats for Western European and other States,
• and 6 seats for Eastern European States.

The other members of the Council and the end of their terms are as follows:

• Argentina (2015), Austria (2014),
• Benin (2014), Botswana (2014), Brazil (2015), Burkina Faso (2014),
• Chile (2014), Congo (2014), Costa Rica (2014), Côte d'Ivoire (2015), Czech Republic (2014),
• Estonia (2015), Ethiopia (2015),
• Gabon (2015), Germany (2015),
• India (2014), Indonesia (2014), Ireland (2015), Italy (2014),
• Japan (2015),
• Kazakhstan (2015), Kenya (2015), Kuwait (2014),
• Montenegro (2015),
• Pakistan (2015), Peru (2014), Philippines (2014),
• Republic of Korea (2015), Romania (2014),
• Sierra Leone (2015),
• United Arab Emirates (2015), United States (2015),
• and Venezuela (2015).

Social Media

Facebook R dark blue 150px  TwitterBird R dark blue 150px  Vimeo R dark blue 150px  Youtube R dark blue 150px  Instagram R dark blue 150px
>> All our channels

externallinks-icon120x120External link:


infoPoint32x32 Dblue Latest Products:

New Backgrounders:
          Refugees and Migrants
          Sustainable Development Goals (SGDs)

Library Newsletter - October 2019
(new websites, information material & publications)

UN Press & Media Contacts

externallinks-icon120x120External link (non-UN):


When the Security Council approaches the final stage of negotiation of a draft resolution the text is printed in blue... What's in Blue helps interested UN readers keep up with what might soon be "in blue".